UNESCO PERSIST Steering Committee

The UNESCO PERSIST Steering Committee consists of Chairs and UNESCO PERSIST Advisors & Contributors. As of March 2020, UNESCO PERSIST has become part of the UNESCO Memory of the World Programme (MoW) Preservation Sub-Committee of the International Advisory Council (IAC): Enhancing the mission of the Preservation Sub-Committee: the Inclusion of PERSIST.


  • David Fricker (National Archives of Australia, President ICA): Chair, UNESCO PERSIST 
  • Robert Buckley (National Archives of the United Arab Emirates): Chair UNESCO PERSIST Policy Working Group  
  • Natasa Milic-Frayling (Intact Digital): Chair, UNESCO PERSIST Technology & Research Working Group 
  • Ingrid Parent (University of British Columbia; acting on behalf of IFLA): Chair, UNESCO PERSIST Content & Best Practices Working Group.

UNESCO PERSIST Advisors and Contributors

  • Ryder Kouba (University of Hong Kong): Secretary to the UNESCO PERSIST Steering Committee
  • Lai-Tee Phang, Chair, Preservation Sub-Committee of the UNESCO MoW International Advisory Committee
  • Abdulla Alraisi (El Reyes), Director-General of the National Archives of the United Arab Emirates and Chair, International Advisory Committee (IAC) of the UNESCO MoW Programme
  • Fackson Banda, Chief, UNESCO Documentary Heritage Unit (MoW), UNESCO
  • Ana Lomtadze, Documentary Heritage Unit (MoW), UNESCO
  • Kenji Tamura, Documentary Heritage Unit (MoW), UNESCO.

The Steering Committee meets regularly to discuss UNESCO PERSIST directions and activities.

%d bloggers like this: